k-drama · Review

Woori The Virgin Is A Remake That Does Things Right But Also Too Much Wrong

Korea took on the legendary Jane The Virgin with their remake Woori The Virgin starring Sung Hoon, Shin Dong Wook and Im Soo Hyun.

Woow, I can’t believe we are seeing the day I am writing a K-Drama review. It’s been a minute and Una really has been carrying this section (thank you for that queen). But I just haven’t really felt like watching anything or much in general. Maybe starting to play Genshin Impact wasn’t the best idea but even before I was barely able to focus on a one hour per episode show. Oh well, I decided to sit down with my friend who isn’t much into K-Dramas (this was actually the second one she watched ever, her first was Happiness, which she enjoyed much more than I did) and watch the Korean version of Jane The Virgin. My friend binged the entire American version last Spring so she was easily convinced to see what Korea would do with this show. So I bring to you my review of Woori The Virgin.

Summary via MDL: Oh Woori is the assistant writer of a popular drama series. She has vowed to remain a virgin until she marries, and has shied away from romantic relationships in a bid to remain chaste until she marries. She is dating the devoted police officer Lee Kang Jae, but when she attends a routine medical exam, a terrible mix-up takes place and she is accidentally artificially inseminated. She later discovers her pregnancy, and demands the hospital gets to the bottom of the case. Eventually she discovers that the donor whose child she is now pregnant with is none other than the CEO of a notable cosmetics firm named Diamond Cosmetics. This CEO, named Raphael, is going through a messy divorce with his wife Lee Ma Ri, a beautiful woman who does not want to split with her husband, chiefly for financial reasons. But when Raphael learns he is to be a father, things get very complicated – particularly after he realizes that there is a secret past connection that links him to Oh Woori!

Source: Tumblr

So I think because I’ve only ever seen two episodes of the original this being a remake didn’t influence me greatly. Woori The Virgin felt like an entirely new show to me as for my friend she could always compare it and she kept being surprised how many original plot points they kept even though Woori The Virgin is 14 episodes and the original is several seasons long. She also wants me to tell you that shortness didn’t work in Woori’s favor it sometimes felt a bit ridiculous and forced to fit everything in. Some aspects randomly appeared like the comic like scenes and so on.

Though they kept a lot of original aspects of the show they did change and adjust some other major plot points which I think make or break any remake. As I haven’t had any knowledge this was actually nicely done to me. My friend does semi agree but she still favors the original especially because in the Korean version the love triangle is just a bit too much sometimes which I have to agree with!

Well, from these first paragraphs you’d think this would be a pretty positive review of Woori The Virgin from my end but there are some things that really annoyed me. While I weirdly enjoyed Woori The Virgin, the episodes passed really quickly for me and I was really invested in the plot. I know some people have complained about the drama being boring or horribly written but I think I am in this mental zone where I just needed something super light, easily to digest, and a show that I didn’t need to use my brain for. Woori The Virgin was that, so I actually quite enjoyed watching the drama all throughout.

Source: Tumblr

However, I was at first a bit iffy about madam main female lead. As you know I have watched two dramas with Soo Hyun, My ID Is Gangnam Beauty and that drama I never finished (It shan’t be named because J*soo), and I wasn’t the biggest fan of her acting or facial expressions. Well, boy was I in for a surprise. I think the role she has in Woori The Virgin really suited her, also her acting was much better. I was pleasantly surprised by her acting. This doesn’t say that she had much chemistry with her co-actors. While I was team Raphael all the way I can’t deny that the little chemsitry Soohyun did have was with Dongwook aka Kangjae or Michael. Anyway, this woman still has to prove to me she can have chemistry with her love interests, that’s nothing against her acting I just don’t think she has found the perfect partner for her yet.

Speaking of her love interests brings us to the next point. I actually didn’t like who Woori ends up with at the end of this show. I have heard rumors of there being a second season and while Woori The Virgin strayed from the original during the middle of the drama it really came back to it during the end and I kind of hate that. They could have wrapped up the show in 14 episodes and not drag it on like the original. But oh well, in the end it made sense who Woori decides on because it just was the reasonable and logical choice and considering their history it was actually predictable. This doesn’t mean I was happy with it but I can accept it for what it is. And if you have seen the original then you know what I mean.

Source: Tumblr

Okay, on a more positive note I really enjoyed Woori The Virgin‘s side characters. Woori’s mom and her relationship with Woori’s father really was a highlight for me and Woori’s grandma is a queen! The cast was really good and even brought us some comic relief moments sometimes. I mean Woori also had some really funny scenes which is always great. One thing though that annoyed me more than just a little is the aspect of Woori being pregnant but us never seeing her belly grow. My girl is not showing any signs of pregnancy but you can hear the fetus’ heartbeat? Sounds fake but okay. But I guess that is a Korean thing, nonetheless it still annoyed me a lot and it just sets unrealistic standards.

To wrap it up, Woori The Virgin was a fine show and if I didn’t watch it with a friend I don’t think I would have watched it at all. However, the drama really surprised me with how it kept me engaged and didn’t surprisingly bore me to death. Overall, it was an okay watch for me and if you want a light, dramatic, romantic story and a decent remake than I’d recommend Woori The Virgin to you!

P.S: Sung Hoon can kick me in the face!

Header Image Source: viki

4 thoughts on “Woori The Virgin Is A Remake That Does Things Right But Also Too Much Wrong

  1. LOL, this was a fun review for sure, I was looking forward to it. When I watched the original (first 2 seasons at least) I was team Michael so this is making me chuckle. The actress would’ve put me off from watching this though not going to lie. Props to you two for sticking with it till the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment