k-pop · reviews

iKON Ask Why Why Why Were They Kept In The Basement

Since YGe kicked iKON’s leader B.I. (Kim Hanbin) unfairly to the street the group has been struggling to find their footing again. Over a year after their comeback with Dive (still produced by B.I.) iKON is back with single Why Why Why.

The water gates have opened. Boy, I knew the iKONs were about to make me cry and they really did. But Why Why Why is exactly the iKON I have been missing for the past two years, this is iKON at their best. Why Why Why was worth the wait and I have a new iKON song I’ll actually be able to listen to as Hanbin was not involved in this song at all. This is the new/old iKON since Dive just didn’t work without their leader (I can barely listen to that song because you could just feel something wasn’t right).

Why Why Why brings back vocal iKON and it’s so beautiful, as it is giving me I’m Ok and Apology vibes and I am here for it. Yunhyeong is absolutely killing that first verse of the song. The build up to the pre-chorus of Why Why Why is so wisely done and then the chorus sends me into the abyss. This is what I want and need from the iKONs this is what they are best at! Why Why Why brings them right back to where they came from and I am loving it. Bobby’s rap is placed quite nicely and we all know how good that boy is at rapping, so you know it’s gonna be good. My favorite part has to be the stripped back end of Why Why Why and Chanwoo opening it. I think I cried the hardest then. I couldn’t be more over the moon that one of my favorite groups is coming back stronger than before. Even though non of the members were involved in the production of Why Why Why, this really is the best iKON has put out since Hanbin left.

Source: lovechords

Not to be biased but the music video is absolutely stunning, the boys look great and the choreography really fits the overall mood of the song. This really had me crying, Why Why Why is pain and joy at the same time. Besides, Donghyuk is the most beautiful human alive and my baby Chanwoo has me proud. They’ve come so far and they’ve been struggling so much, they deserve to win with this. Let’s get the iKON hype going again (since they are stuck at that horrible company anyway) and lets try to find center stage on Kingdom.

iKON are finally back to their best sound – the emotional, vocal-driven one which YGE artists excel at. This is the kind of melody, the kind of atmospheric upbeat ballad we’ve been craving for quite a while and it’s so good to have iKON be the ones to bring it back. The group has extremely unique vocalists which shine so much in this song and bring the most of the emotion to it. Why Why Why does such a good job of combining and contrasting the more soothing vocals of Jinhwan, DK and Chanwoo and the more raspy ones of June and Song with Bobby’s emotional rap section meeting them right in the middle. I just love the way the song is structured, with properly developed verses, short but memorable pre-chorus and a stunning chorus full of melody, reminiscing early to mid 2010s YGE sound which we all love.

Why Why Why seems like a perfect way to say goodbye to the past and say hello to what’s about to come in the future. The group’s biggest issue has always been their company which truly does not know how to manage their artists in between comebacks but I am hoping that this digital single is the start of something new for this talented group which deserves so much more. Why Why Why seems like a mixture of all of their past songs, not only in sound but also music video-wise, which for me seems like a good way to choose a path on the career crossroad they’re currently at. This song is right up my alley and I know it will join Apology and Don’t Forget on my go-to cry list.

Source: thebvbbletea on Tumblr

The music video is simple yet stunning – this is how you use colours to your advantage. The colour palette relies on purple, orange and pink tones throughout the whole music video and it creates both a warm and wistful atmosphere which goes just right with the lyrics of the song. Usage of sky and sunset inspired colours and backgrounds is something I adore as it always creates something of a heavenly imagery. I especially loved the group shots as well as Song’s flower inspired ones. Like I already said, I love how the video calls back on their previous releases – group shots in the first part reminding me of Goodbye Road, Bobby’s scenes of Killing Me, Jay’s of Love Scenario and the final group scenes of I’m Ok with the fire imagery in the centre. To me this entire release seems like a way to appreciate everything they’ve done so far while gearing up for something new.

I don’t remember the last time we praised a release this much but this is really the sound we love, coming from a group close to our hearts. We are truly satisfied and hoping for success.

Header Image Source: YG Entertainment

17 thoughts on “iKON Ask Why Why Why Were They Kept In The Basement

  1. This was such a nice surprise for me – ‘Dive’ had me low key nervous about their future…. but FEAR NOT. Super excited for them to show everything they’ve got on Kingdom

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hi, great review. I’m happy I could meet someone who loved this song😊. I absolutely Ikon and this is their first comeback in a year so I was waiting for it eagerly and it was better than my expectations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment