k-drama · Review

A Cute But Angsty Drama – Find Me In Your Memory 

Yes, I will be trying to watch every drama Moon Gayoung has been in so far. I love that woman and when she speaks German I think my soul leaves my body so first on my list after True Beauty is Find Me In Your Memory!

So, I was scrolling through Netflix on a late Saturday evening and then a K-drama I missed out on last year stared at me. Find Me In Your Memory had so many selling points, Moon Gayoung, Kim Dongwook, Up10tion’s Lee Jinhyuk, and cameos by Sf9’s Rowoon and Kim Seonho. I just had to watch at this point since the plot looked so good and I meant to watch it while it was airing last year during the spring anyway. So let’s get into it because I enjoyed this one immensely. Yay finally Lina being positive again.

Just Rowoon in Find Me In Your Memory. Source: Tumblr

First of all, I am in love with the chemistry in this drama and the fact that there is such a huge age gap between Gayoung and Dongwook makes this chemistry even more surprising. They weren’t awkward around each other at all and they are about to be one of my favorite drama couple’s ever. Frankly, this drama is exactly what I needed after this True Beauty clusterf*ck of a rollercoaster (I am praying the last two episodes aren’t too bad please I haven’t watched them at the time of writing this review). Find Me In Your Memory really cleared my pallet in a very good way.

Dongwook has the cutest smile. Source: Tumblr

Find Me In Your Memory is about an actress who has problems remembering her past (I relate to her greatly I have one of the worst memories. I can’t remember anything older than 2 years ago…) and a news anchor who has a disease that won’t let his memories fade. He remembers every little detail of his life. What a couple huh? Their story is so effortlessly intertwined though I was amazed at how well it was done. But the drama isn’t only romantic but also totally angsty. There is an entire stalker subplot that holds on up to episode 10 and it is so, so angsty.

Honestly, if I had to criticizes one thing about this drama is that it is a bit too angsty for me at some points. We barely got one episode of happiness and cheese. There is always something going on up until episode 15. Like let me take a breather here for a second please. Why make it so intense all the time and make me cry so much. Sometimes I just want a good filler episode of cheesy dates and unachievable happiness.

Jinhyuk getting beating up by Seulgi. Source: Tumblr

As for the characters, I loved our main couple and the supporting characters. Each of them were three dimensional and super cute and funny. This cast’s chemistry was amazing and it is so refreshing to watch a drama with no annoying second lead and no dumb love triangle! I honestly felt for each of these characters and I was really involved in their journeys and stories. Furthermore, character development was present throughout the drama so thank you for that dear writer. I loved, loved the sister dynamics in this drama, you all know I love a good sibling sub plot and this relationship was so healthy and supportive. Hajin and Hakyoung for life!

I am praising this drama too much but I did really enjoy this more than I ever expected to and I have grown so attached to this drama. I miss these charaters so much already I mean the ending even gave us all the closure we needed for all of our characters? All of them? That is so damn rare. I mean they did kind of use one of my most hated tropes at the end of ep 15 but we will look past that. If that hasn’t convinced you yet to watch then…just for scientific reasons of course but the smooches… are insane in this drama. Y’all watch Moon Gayoung smooch Dongwook and tell me they weren’t just a little bit in love. I have been watching the behinds of this drama and I am sad, sad, I want what they have.

Look at these cuties. Source: wordpress

5 thoughts on “A Cute But Angsty Drama – Find Me In Your Memory 

  1. This sounds so nice. *-* I am surprised that the chemistry worked so well with the age gap but I guess that also shows their acting abilities too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment