j-drama · other

Let’s Talk About Some BL Dramas

Neither of us has finished a drama in a while so instead of your weekly drama review we offer you a small round-up of BLs by yours truly!

Sooooo, it’s been a year since I fell back into the hole that is BL dramas. You know as someone that is part of the queer community, we really appreciate queer content even if it is very hetero-normative sometimes. BLs tend to do this a lot. However, there are still some better ones out there. I have been watching quite a few BL dramas this year and I am currently watching more BLs than K-Dramas (I am also in a heavy anime phase again) so I decided to share some thoughts on a couple of BLs I am watching at the moment. Let’s get into it!

The Eclipse

Not sure what is going down at GMMTV at the moment but it really seems like they lost their spark after Bad Buddy and Not Me. It feels like everything good went into these shows and everything after has been bland and boring. I dragged myself through a lot of their never shows and The Eclipse is the only one I paid the most attention to. It’s First and Khaotung for me, the latter is carrying the show by being the only likable character and an amazing actor. The drama gives us a school that seems more like a cult and it takes itself so seriously that it makes for a lot of unintentional comedy. Not sure why I even am finishing this the plot is horrible.

Remember Me

I’ve been waiting for so long to finally get another JaFirst drama. As someone who weirdly enjoyed Don’t Say No more than she should have, I needed more of this duo. I’ve seen people hate on this drama after the first episode which I don’t understand because? That was great? First’s acting has improved a lot and I am so happy about this. While I admit after three episodes the pacing has suffered a bit and the production value seems lower than I expected. I am still into this story? Give it a chance! It about friendship and gays <3.

My Only 12%

This show is single-handedly carrying me on its back! Earth and Santa are a fantastic duo, I knew that the first time I saw them in 7 Project together. I had been waiting for this one a bit too much but I am so glad so far as it has more than delivered. The acting is amazing, the story has me involved a bit more than I should and I love Studio Wabi Sabi’s cinematography usually so it looks great. We have three episodes left and I am already sad about it. This is probably the only BL after Bad Buddy that has me this excited for new eps every week.

Between Us

I am about to absolutely go crazy about this new BL. I have been counting the days and waiting for the UTWMA spin-off with Win and Team to finally drop and it is finally here. Boun and Prem are another fantastic duo and they play off each other so very well. I can’t believe how many original cast members came back for this show as well after years. I know this story will be problematic, toxic and yet so, so good! This isn’t out yet but I’ll be watching it as soon as it is in a couple of days.

Well, that wraps up my little BL round-up post! Let me know which BLs you are watching and make sure you leave me some recommendations I am in need of some classics I might have missed!

Header Image Source: Made by Lina for hallyureviews.

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Some BL Dramas

  1. I’ve been wanting to check out My Only 12 percent! I’m glad you’re enjoying it 🙂
    OMG wait??? Between Us FINALLY has an official premiere date??? Ahh that’s so exciting!

    Like

Leave a comment