k-pop · reviews

Lee Eunsang Returns A Year After Debut With Lemonade 

Lee Eunsang debuted with Beautiful Scar exactly a year ago and returns today with his second solo single album Beautiful Sunshine and title Lemonade.

It took my boy a year to get a comeback I really do not understand. What has he been doing? I don’t remember him acting nor having anything else going on (besides the Wooseok collab). What is BNM doing? I still don’t understand why he is a solo artist, I like his voice and I am all for supporting Eunsang but my baby needs a group he doesn’t have the full solo artist potential yet, add him to Ab6ix, give him a new group à la Bae Jinyoung, I do not care but get him regularly employed. I am begging! Okay, with that out of the way let’s focus on today’s review.

I really enjoyed Beautiful Scar when it came out almost exactly a year ago and him being joined with Woojin worked really well. Eunsang got talent for sure Lemonade sounded promising for sure, very summer-y (odd timing with me getting ready for fall). The highlight medley for the single album on the other hand left me a bit feeling meh because non of the songs besides the title sounded memorable. Lemonade is overall quite a nice song, sadly the chorus is mostly instrumental driven and gives me close to nothing. The “Drink Lemonade” does work as a hook but it is not completely hooking me to be honest. The verses are by far the songs strongest points, they flow very well. Lemonade is not bad by any means but it doesn’t stand out against any other summer-y songs. Still I love Eunsang and Lemonade‘s bridge is beautiful that has to be said. I can see this song growing on me a lot as well so we will see.

The b-sides on the single album are better than I expected them to be! Undo is a nice mellow rnb piece and Stay in Here is a beautiful ballad proving to us how well Eunsang can sing.

Okay, BNM can you give my boy a group now?

Header Image Source: Brand New Music

2 thoughts on “Lee Eunsang Returns A Year After Debut With Lemonade 

  1. Honestly, I’ve been surviving off of Beautiful Scar for an EXACT YEAR…. this probably won’t be my new Eunsang love and I’ll still be vibing to Beautiful Scar forever but it’s pretty chill.

    Also Eunsang is joining BNM’s new boy group, but how could they drop that news in June and then say nothing else….. and then this. I’m so confused about timelines here 😅😅😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment