k-pop · reviews

SUNMI Offers Us A Balloon In Love

SUNMI finally returns with new digital single Balloon In Love.

It was time for the queen of all queens to finally make her comeback. I have a question, I love when Sunmi comes back and it is usually close to or during summer but why is it always just a single? Sunmi why are you keeping us half fed give us more, where are the EPs, the full albums, I know she has the capacity for it. Anyway, I am complaining as a fan of her music I tend to yap apologies. The concept photos for this comeback single looked stunning as they usually do when it comes to Sunmi. Let’s get into the review.

Balloon In Love‘s music video is so incredibly pretty I love the soft and pastel-y filter on it, Sunmi also loos very beautiful. As for the song Balloon In Love is much more subdued than I expected from Sunmi for this time of the year, there is a bit of a groovy to it and I love the instrumental a lot. But overall Balloon In Love is essential a more fast paced late spring single. It as a couple of rockier parts, especially during the end and the electric guitars are also a lot of fun and add to the son, but it is not a dance banger like I personally need right now. Balloon In Love is a fine song it is fun, it is catchy and Sunmi sounds amazing on it but it feels a bit too slow for me today. I need something fast paced and hyped.

But in the end Sunmi never misses and this is still a really solid comeback and single.

Header Image Source: ABYSS Company

Leave a comment