k-drama · Review

Netflix’s My Name And Its Cast Really Do Deserve All The Hype

My Name is the newest of Netflix’s k-drama releases and with its short run of just 8 episodes, the drama and its cast really manage to prove they deserve all the hype they’ve been getting.

My Name was a very anticipated Netflix release by many and we are very excited to be writing a review for it. With the promising cast featuring Han Sohee, Ahn Bohyun and Park Heesoon and a very thrilling and mysterious plot, My Name definitely peaked everyone’s interest right away. The summary of the drama grabbed my attention right away as we definitely don’t have nearly enough revenge dramas with strong female characters as leads and that’s something that needs to be corrected in the future cause I’d gladly watch anything like that. I think it’s good to approach the drama with mid-tier expectations because while the cast is excellent and the premise is intriguing, there are a lot of traditional plot twists and plot holes at that which I didn’t even mind. Maybe it’s because I like to keep it safe but I found everything about this to be highly enjoyable even if nothing groundbreaking. A solid drama overall but here’s the actual review.

From MyDramaList: Following her father’s murder, a revenge-driven woman puts her trust in a powerful crime boss — and enters the police force under his direction. Yoon Ji Woo, a member of the organized crime ring, goes undercover as a police officer and harbors cold revenge in her heart. Helping Yoon Ji Woo go undercover is Choi Moo Jin, the boss of, the biggest drug ring in Korea, whose true motives are not easy to read. Jeon Pil Do, a police detective in the Drug Investigation Unit. He is a stickler for rules who becomes Yoon Ji Woo’s partner when she joins the police. Cha Gi Ho, the team leader of the Drug Investigation Unit. He and Choi Moo Jin have long been enemies, with Cha Gi Ho vowing to take down his crime ring before he retires. Jung Tae Joo, Choi Moo Jin’s subordinate in the drug ring. Because of his steadfast loyalty, he is Choi Moo Jin’s most trusted henchman. Do Gang Jae, a former member of the drug ring. After causing problems and getting kicked out of the gang, he vowed revenge against them.

Source: yoona-yoona on Tumblr

My Name has a pretty direct premise and it’s easy to remember who is who and to catch the basics of the plot in the very first episode. The story progresses pretty nicely and quickly and I feel like 8 episodes were just enough for the idea the writers had – they managed to wrap up most of the main plot lines and to let us know the main characters quite well. Considering there are only 8 episodes it’s really a testimony to how great the cast is that you’ll feel yourself growing attached to most of our leads – even the villains. Then, on the other hand, who really is the villain here? Most of the characters, including the lead Jiwoo, are pretty far away from the black-and-white scale and fall into the morally gray section which was definitely a very interesting thing to observe.

The plot and the characters are very solid and enjoyable until the very end. There are a few plot twists here and there and while some of them I predicted I still think they were done pretty well and true to the story. There is a lot of action, a lot of death, blood and injuries but the real star of the drama for me were the characters and the relationships between them. Throughout the drama we see a lot of them, especially Jiwoo, open up more and while Han Sohee was definitely the pillar of this story, the male cast delivered quality just as well – mainly Ahn Bohyun, Park Heesoon and Lee Hakjoo. Considering Ahn Bohyun’s character Pil Do was supposed to be the righteous cop of the drama, I ended up loving his character and I think he showed a lot of development throughout the show – Bohyun’s acting was superb. On the other side, we had the supposed bad guys in the form of Moo Jin and Tae Joo but, in the words of my mom, why did I end up rooting for them not to get caught? The acting is just that good and the characters nicely fleshed out.

Source: leehakjoo on Tumblr

Our reviews wouldn’t be our reviews if we also didn’t appreciate the visuals a bit and my shoutout goes to Lee Hakjoo who, along with his character in the drama, kind of stole the spotlight for me. I would’ve loved to learn more about Tae Joo as he seemed like a complex character all around. The cast is a sight for sore eyes, no matter how beaten up and bloody they are (which is probably about 70% of the show).

The ending was good. I wish we did end up getting a few more answers but I think it was rounded up nicely and with no need for another season. It was painful and raw and that fits the general premise of the drama and what we saw throughout it. The opinions are split on some details regarding the drama (like the fact that there is a really tastefully done sex scene) but I’d dare say people are being a tiny bit dramatic and sometimes even patronizing. I’ve seen way too many comments such as k-dramas are supposed to be pure, this isn’t an American tv-show and it just rubs me in the wrong way. Netflix is known for things like these and while I’m not a massive fan of it either, this one was very nicely done and it went well with the emotion of the episode.

Overall, a solid 9/10 for My Name from me.

Wowza, Una wrote a lot for this drama and I love it. I came out of my Thai drama hole to binge My Name after a stressful week of Uni and moving and just general life dramatics and finished it in like 12 hours. If I have a super power it is watching this many shows even though I have so much other life things to handle. How I do it? I am not too sure about it but yes My Name was great and you all know I am a huge, huge Han Sohee fangirl. This woman has been killing it with proving to us what a fantastic actress she is and My Name was not short of amazing. With Una having taken care of the formalities – thankfully – I can just dive right in.

My Name was much darker than I expected it to. Yes, the teasers and trailers for it looked violent and dark but I had no idea it would be this violent and dark. I also had for some reason unknown to me the impression this would be a movie? So you should have seen my face when I saw it was an entire show. Well, eight episodes. But anyhow, the show was perfect in its length and pace and I am saying it officially I do not want a second season of this. It is done, My Name‘s story is told and that pretty well. We don’t want another season because it made a couple of people money.

Source: Tumblr – soobiinms

So, as for the plot I thought it was really interesting and, unlike Una, I didn’t quite predict one of the biggest ones even though it was really obvious. Maybe my brain was just too occupied with other things but I thought it was done quite well and surprised me enough for me to be a bit shocked. But yes the plot is told well at least for our main character. There are a few characters I wish we could have gotten a bit more information about, I’d accept a special episode about them because I think they would make for quite the interesting story. I actually also like the ending a lot even though there are a few plot holes I’d like explained. It all seemed a little bit too easy for me and people really can’t be this invincible. Someone explain.

Let’s get to the most interesting part. The cast and the acting. Honestly Han Sohee outdid she has such a wide variety and the physical stuff she did for this drama was insane. But the same goes for the rest of the cast. Bohyun was so hot and refreshing to see after seeing him on Yumi’s Cells where he looks not.. well not as hot (kinda jealous of everyone he beats up). I quite enjoyed his character even if he played a cop and they can be a bit too goody two shoes. He was quite well balanced. Chang Ryul is so good at playing bad guys by the way, when is my man getting a lead in a drama. The rest of the cast also did a fantastic job in their respective roles and they are all way too hot for my bi brain to handle. I was panicking left and right. Honestly, how are they all so attractive… and that sexy time scene.. whew I was not ready.

Source: Tumblr – netflixdramas

Same as Una this is honestly a 9/10 watch for me, if they had rounded out the ending a bit more it would be a 10 out of 10 but the script and acting were all solid and I had a really good time for those 8 hours! If you are searching for a thrilling watch, My Name is it!

Header Image Source: Netflix

4 thoughts on “Netflix’s My Name And Its Cast Really Do Deserve All The Hype

Leave a comment