Debuts · k-pop · reviews

HOT DEBUT: bugAboo Are A Girl Group To Watch With bugAboo 

bugAboo finally debut with their first single album bugAboo and it lets us hope.

This has been a pretty highly anticipated debut by – at least myself. Not the biggest fan of the person behind this group since he seems like a douche but you can’t deny bugAboo is by far one of the most interesting girl groups coming our way this year! The teasers looked good and while they are going for a more mysterious and creepy concept this doesn’t mean the music has to be angsty or weird (I do love me some angst btw no judgment here). The teasers for bugAboo – a self-titled song which is hopefully indicating the music they are going to keep pursuing will be this – sounded really good. The instrumental promised me everything and it delivered.

bugAboo is really good, I have barely any complaints here, proper melody, the chorus is super good, everything is good here. I love the brass instruments during the entire instrument as it makes bugAboo immediately stand out from all the other groups. Yes, not even bugAboo is safe from the second verse curse but it works and doesn’t kill the song’s momentum too much. I also like that they went for the creepy vibes during the bridge, it really fits here and makes for a stand out part of the song. My only complaint about bugAboo might be that it is a bit too smooth, I know that’s weird but everything is running too smoothly here. The chorus is missing a bit of an edge to it that would make the chorus just hit a bit more. Not sure why that is but I am missing just a tiny bit of something.

Don’t get me wrong I am complaining about a perfectly fine song and it’s a complaining on a high level. I am overall really satisfied with this debut. bugAboo keep going like this and I’ll be your fan in no time, Maybe just kick your CEO in the butt a bit to get his head out of there.

A solid debut even though it’s not my favourite type of sound. I agree with Lina that it’s nice that this isn’t angsty cause we had a lot of mediocre attempts at that by girl groups this year and it seems like more upbeat, fresh concepts are much more fitting and easier to deliver this year which is fun. bugAboo is fun and catchy, with a proper structure and even a post-chorus which we don’t have enough of lately and I’m a big fan of those. The girls seem talented and charismatic and they definitely have a lot of potential to show us something more next time as well.

bugAboo is a solid, smooth song but I also have to agree with Lina that it’s missing something to make it sharper, stronger. It’s a perfectly fun song but I’m not sure about its longevity considering it doesn’t offer anything particularly new. It reminds of a smoother version of the sound MOMOLAND have developed in these last few years which isn’t a bad thing but I’d be interested to see the girls try something different out as well. Considering this is a debut this is a nice little song even though I don’t think I’ll end up listening to it after the review. Honesty is honesty and we all have our own tastes.

PS. How about something along the lines of Maniac which Ryan Jhun produced earlier this year? I’d love to hear the group tackle something like this.

Header Image Source: A Team Entertainment

8 thoughts on “HOT DEBUT: bugAboo Are A Girl Group To Watch With bugAboo 

  1. Is there any chance you can come up with a decent na-
    agencies: *backflips*
    *frontflips*
    *backflips*
    *cartwheels*
    *points gun on you*
    sQu4d and bUgAbOoooOoOoo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment